Employment Based Immigrant Visas

An immigrant visa, gives the individual the right to live and work permanently in the U.S. The holder of an immigrant visa, also known as a Green Card, is considered a lawful permanent resident and assumes many of the privileges of a U.S. citizen, including the right to vote in U.S. elections and the ability to travel abroad and return to the United States without any concern that reentry to the country will be denied.

Immigrant visas can be obtained through employment or sponsored by family, including fiance(e)s.

EB-1: There are three major categories of workers that can qualify for the EB-1 visa:

  • 1. Extraordinary Ability
  • 2. Outstanding Professors and Researchers
  • 3. Multinational Manager or Executive

EB-2 Second Preference: Within the EB-2 visa category, there are three sub-categories of workers:

  • 1. Advanced Degree: In order to fall into the first category of “advanced degree,” you must be applying for a job that requires an advanced degree to possess.
  • 2. Exceptional Ability: In order to fall into the second category of “exceptional ability,” a petitioner must provide evidence that they have exceptional ability in the sciences, arts, business or science.
  • 3. National Interest Waiver: To fall into the national interest waiver category, an individual must show proof that their employment in the United States would serve and benefit the overall national interest.

EB-3 Second Preference: Within the EB-3 visa category, there are three sub-categories of workers:

  • 1. Skilled Workers
  • 2. Professionals
  • 3. Unskilled / Other Workers

EB-4: you must meet the qualifications of one of the following types of workers:

  • Religious Worker
  • News or Radio Broadcaster
  • Translator (Iraqi or Afghan)
  • Iraqi citizen assisting the U.S.
  • International Organization Employees
  • Physicians
  • Members of the Armed Forces
  • Employees Working in the Panama Canal Zone
  • NATO-6 Retirees
  • Children or Widows/Widowers of NATO-6 Workers